• Language: English
  • ISSN: 2488-9709
  • Established Year: 1982
  • Published Articles: 105
Journal of The Linguistic Association of Nigeria (JOLAN)

Executive Editor:Professor Ozo-mekuri Ndimele
Publication Frequency:Bi-annually
Publisher:Linguistic Association of Nigeria
Paper Submission E-mail:mekuri01@yahoo.com

Journal of Linguistic Association of Nigeria (JOLAN) is a peer-reviewed multidisciplinary academic journal which is published by the Linguistic Association of Nigeria (LAN). JOLAN publishes serious, well-researched and original papers or research reports in any area of linguistics, language, literature, culture, information science, and communication studies. It was established in 1982 as the professional journal of the Linguistic Association of Nigeria. The journal was initially issued once a year. From 2010, however, the Journal began to be published in volumes of two issues per year (June and December), in print form only. Occasional supplements may be published as the need arises. Some earlier editions are available on-line for free download. JOLAN receives manuscripts all year round from members and non-members of LAN. The ISSN of the Journal is 0189-5680. The eISSN is 2488-9709 The Editor of the Journal is Professor Ozo-mekuri Ndimele (University of Port Harcourt, Nigeria). Official e-mail address for correspondence and submission of papers is mekuri01@yahoo.com Language, Linguistics, Communication, Information Sciences, Literature and culture

AUTHORS should give their names, institutional affiliation/postal address, e-mail address and phone number in the form in which they wish them to appear under the title of the article.

SUBMISSION of paper should be made electronically by e-mail attachment in word document and PDF version.


  1. Manuscripts should have an abstract of not more 300 words.
  2. We accepts papers which adopt either the LSA, MLA or APA style sheet, provided the author is consistent.
  3. The whole paper should be presented in an accessible version of Word document file, typed on 13 point Times New Roman in single line spacing, including abstract, endnotes (if any), list of abbreviations (if any), and references.
  4. Footnotes (if any) should be presented on 10 point Times New Roman.
  5. The title of the paper should be presented in title case on 14 point Times New Roman.
  6. Headings and sub-headings should be presented in title case and typed on 13 point Times New Roman.
  7. Authors are encouraged to use a Unicode-compliant font. Several of them are available for download for no cost at the following website http://sil.org. But if for any reason an unusual font is used, this should be supplied to the Editor.
  8. Paragraphs: Beginning of a paragraph should be by tab indentation 0.5 cm. No line gap for a new paragraph.
  9. All data examples should be aligned correctly with the literal gloss morpheme-by-morpheme, using tabs.
  10. Examples numbering should be backspaced to the margin.
  11. Section numbering should start with 0 for the Introduction (which preferably should not have sub-sections), proceed to 1, 2, etc., for main sections, 1.1, 1.2, etc., for sections, and 1.1.1, 1.1.2, etc., for sub-sections. It is recommended that numbering of sub-sections should not go beyond three figures.
  12. REFERENCES should be noted in the text, using the author, date and page system, e.g., Bamgbose (2010:23); (Williamson, 2005:8).
  13. A full alphabetical list of references used in the text should appear at the end of the paper.
  14. The list of references should only contain works that are referred to in the body of the text. Please be sure to include and check page references. It is a common fault that authors do not check the accuracy of their citations before submitting their papers.
  15. We will not allow bibliography in place of references.
Professor Ozo-mekuri Ndimele
Professor Gideon Sunday Omachonu
Associate Editor
Professor Lendzemo Constantine Yuka
Associate Editor
Salem Ochala Ejeba
Ayo Bamgbose
Ben O. Elugbe
Okon Essien
Victor Manfredi
Bruce Connell
Munzali Jibril
A. H. Amfani
Akinbiyi Akinlabi
Andrew Haruna
Chinyere Ohiri-aniche
Eno-abasi Urua
I. Junaidu
A. U. Okwudishu
G. I. Teke